Skip to main content

Emergency Alert

CORONA VIRUS INFORMATION (COVID-19)  

Due to the Coronavirus recommendations, all Carbon County School District #2 Schools will be closed beginning at 8:00 AM, Tuesday, March 17th  through Friday April 17th - including the Central Office, to the General Public to limit exposure for our essential personnel who will be working during the closure period.  Please call or email for any help needed.  Deliveries will be allowed as possible during this time.    

Update – 03.27.2020

Governor Gordon just extended school closures in Wyoming through April 17th.  Please refer to our CCSD#2 District website for our plans to provide education to our students beginning on Monday, April 6.  Please click on the tab that is titled “School Closures and Coronavirus” and on the word “Here”.  Please note that these plans are a work in progress and we are being given guidance from the Wyoming Department of Education daily – so there will be revisions.  There will also be revisions as we figure out what practices work and which ones do not work.  We are preparing devices that we will distribute to families without devices at home – beginning with seniors first and then working down the grades.  We are also working with Union to help with those familes that do not have internet access at home.  However, we will be limited to what internet access is available in all parts of our District.  We will have hard copies of work available for pickup or possibly delivery also. 

I appreciate all of the work of our Administration Team who have been working during this Spring Break to prepare a plan.  Please bear with us as we continue to revise as needed.  Thanks so much for your patience during this extraordinary time.

Carbon County School District #2 is offering free emergency meals to students and families in our community ages 18 & under. If your family needs meals during this time, please place your order for emergency meals online to help us ensure we know how many to prepare.

Ordering emergency meals online is completely free – you will not be charged any amount when placing an order or when you pick up your meals.

Place your order here: https://www.myschoolbucks.com/ver2/prdembd?ref=H5OLPDL1082K06B_ZZ37NZLGXA0WE7H  

Pre-order your meals online and pick them up at one of the following locations:

  • Encampment School 11:00 am-Noon
  • Saratoga MHS 11:00 am-Noon 
  • HEM HS 11:00 am-Noon 
  • Medicine Bow School 11:00 am-Noon 
  • Elk Mountain School 11:00 am-Noon 

Please click on the links below to access information that was sent home to all Parents concerning the Corona Virus.  This is simply to keep you informed and to be proactive in the unlikely event that the spread affects CCSD#2.  This information comes from the CDC (Center for Disease Control) and from the CCSD#2 Nursing Staff. 

UPDATES FROM THE CCSD#2 NURSING STAFF

TIPS FOR PARENTS DURING THE COVID-19 OUTBREAK

CARBON 2 PROACTIVE PLANNING

 Letter to Parents

CDC Fact Sheet

CDC – What to do if you are sick

 

Initial Education Links below (these include educational activities that should be free).  Additional links will be added daily.  These are not meant to provide a complete educational program, but are optional while we develop a framework for prividing education to all of our CCSD#2 students should the school closure extend beyond April 3rd

SOME LINKS TO EDUCATIONAL WEBSITES

LITERACY & SPEECH:

Literature   www.bibliomania.com
Easy to Read Books   www.storylineonline.net
Books Grades 3-12 www.commonlit.org
Student News   www.newsela.com
Speech Sound Work Sheets   http://www.eduplace.com/tales/
    http://www.positivelyautism.com/free/1free_social.html
    http://learnenglishkids.britishcouncil.org/listen-watch
    http://www.elfs.com/MovieTmpl8.html
    http://web.archive.org/web/20090208105628/https://www.speakingofspeech.com/Articulation_Materials.html
    https://www.quia.com/pages/havemorefun.html
    https://www.quia.com/pages/pbordashome.html
    http://www.mnsu.edu/comdis/kuster2/sptherapy.html
    www.scholastic.com/learnathome
Worksheets www.education.com/worksheets

FREE RESOURCES: 

AGE Wesbite
Preschool Early Elementary School  
Oxford Owl https://home.oxfordowl.co.uk/
Brain Pop Junior https://jr.brainpop.com/
Science Foundation https://www.discoverspace.org/education/for-educators/stem-lesson-plans/
Mystery Science https://mysteryscience.com/school-closure-planning
Children's Museum Houston https://www.cmhouston.org/classroom-curriculum?exhibits=%5B%5D&grades=%5B%5D&page=1&subject=%5B%5D
   
Elementary, Middle School and Above
ABCYa https://www.abcya.com/
Zearn https://about.zearn.org/distance-learning
Disney Nature https://nature.disney.com/movies
Scratch https://scratch.mit.edu/
Space Foundation https://www.discoverspace.org/education/for-educators/stem-lesson-plans/
Mystery Science https://mysteryscience.com/school-closure-planning
Children's Museum Houston https://www.cmhouston.org/classroom-curriculum?exhibits=%5B%5D&grades=%5B%5D&page=1&subject=%5B%5D
STMath https://www.stmath.com/coronavirus
Prodigy Math https://www.prodigygame.com/
Curriculum Associates https://www.curriculumassociates.com/supporting-students-away-from-school
DK Find Out! https://www.dkfindout.com/us/
Listenwise https://listenwise.com/
Common Lit https://www.commonlit.org/en/texts
Codecademy https://pro.codecademy.com/learn-from-home/?utm_source=contentful_banner&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=learn_from_home
   
ALL AGES  
National Geo https://kids.nationalgeographic.com/explore/science/science-lab/
National Ocean Service https://oceanservice.noaa.gov/kids/
Lunch Doodles https://www.kennedy-center.org/education/mo-willems/
Scholastic https://classroommagazines.scholastic.com/support/learnathome.html
Greg Tang Math https://gregtangmath.com/
SciShow Kids https://www.youtube.com/user/scishowkids
Frontiers  https://kids.frontiersin.org/
The Kid Should See This https://thekidshouldseethis.com/
Imagineering in a Box https://www.khanacademy.org/humanities/hass-storytelling/imagineering-in-a-box
BBC Bitesize https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize
BrainPop https://www.brainpop.com/
BreakoutEDU https://www.breakoutedu.com/funathome
Wonderopolis https://wonderopolis.org/
XtraMath https://xtramath.org/#/home/index
How Stuff Works https://www.youtube.com/user/HowStuffWorks
Code.org https://code.org/
Typing.com https://www.typing.com/
IXL https://www.ixl.com/
Greatminds.orgs https://gm.greatminds.org/en-us/knowledgeonthego
KCET At-Home Learning https://www.kcet.org/at-home-learning
California Academy of Sciences https://www.calacademy.org/learn-explore/apps-interactives
Bill Nye the Science Guy https://billnye.com/the-science-guy#0
Nasa Stem https://www.nasa.gov/stem
Gizmos https://web.explorelearning.com/coronavirus-response/?_ga=2.127569294.2081616236.1584682255-310364377.1584682255
PhET Interactive Simulations https://phet.colorado.edu/_m/
Khan Academy https://www.khanacademy.org/
Professor Egghead Science Academy https://www.youtube.com/user/proegghead
Quill.com https://www.quill.org/
Quizlet https://quizlet.com/
Duolingo https://www.duolingo.com/
   
Open Culture http://www.openculture.com/free_k-12_educational_resources
   
Tinkergarten https://tinkergarten.com/

VIRTUAL TOURS:

Tour Website
Th Louvre https://www.louvre.fr/en/visites-en-ligne#tabs
Solomon R. Guggenheim https://www.guggenheim.org/collection-online
Smithsonian https://naturalhistory2.si.edu/vt3/NMNH/
Van Gogh https://artsandculture.google.com/streetview/van-gogh-museum-groundfloor/2QHwyv_Y6gueAw?hl=en&sv_lng=4.8808198&sv_lat=52.3585336&sv_h=0.07351778050821167&sv_p=-14.958125813166376&sv_pid=T4EwMNbRYOhcEPF8T1I8xw&sv_z=1
Getty Museum https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/the-j-paul-getty-museum?hl=en
Vatican http://www.museivaticani.va/content/museivaticani/en/collezioni/musei/tour-virtuali-elenco.html
Thyssen-Bornemiszan https://www.museothyssen.org/en/thyssenmultimedia
Georgia O'Keeffe https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/georgia-o-keeffe-museum?hl=en
National Museum of Anthropology, Mexico City https://artsandculture.google.com/asset/the-national-museum-of-anthropology-mexico-city-ziko-van-dijk-wikimedia-commons/bAGSHRdlzSRcdQ?hl=en
British Museum, London https://britishmuseum.withgoogle.com/
NASA https://oh.larc.nasa.gov/oh/
National Women's History Museum https://www.womenshistory.org/womens-history/online-exhibits
Metropolitan Museum of Art https://artsandculture.google.com/streetview/metropolitan-museum-of-art/KAFHmsOTE-4Xyw?hl=en&sv_lng=-73.9624786&sv_lat=40.7803959&sv_h=335.0285349959785&sv_p=0.9453475127378823&sv_pid=KeFx8oXHzeuY8L5rfepHaA&sv_z=0.6253222631835352
High Museum of Art, Atlanta https://artsandculture.google.com/exhibit/civil-rights-photography/9wISPkiyouv-Lw?hl=en
Detriot Museum of Arts https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/detroit-institute-of-arts?hl=en
Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam https://artsandculture.google.com/streetview/rijksmuseum/iwH5aYGoPwSf7g?hl=en&sv_lng=4.885283712508563&sv_lat=52.35984312584405&sv_h=311.1699875145569&sv_p=-5.924133903625474&sv_pid=fOVcUXQW2wpRf33iUmxEfg&sv_z=1
National Museum of USAF https://www.nationalmuseum.af.mil/Visit/Virtual-Tour/
MoMA https://artsandculture.google.com/exhibit/sophie-taeuber-arp/swKioHNhYqZoLw?hl=en
Museum of Fine Arts-Boston https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/museum-of-fine-arts-boston?hl=en
   
   
   
ZOOS and AQUARIUMS
Cinncinnati Zoo https://www.facebook.com/cincinnatizoo/
Atlanta Zoo https://zooatlanta.org/panda-cam/
Georgia Aquarium https://www.georgiaaquarium.org/webcam/beluga-whale-webcam/
Houston Zoo https://www.houstonzoo.org/explore/webcams/
Shedd Aquarium https://www.facebook.com/sheddaquarium/
San Diego Zoo https://kids.sandiegozoo.org/videos
Monterey Bay Aquarium https://www.montereybayaquarium.org/animals/live-cams
National Aquarium https://aqua.org/media/virtualtours/baltimore/index.html

 

https://kids.sandiegozoo.org

 

https://www.nps.gov

 

https://accessmars.withgoogle.com

 

https://www.farmfood360.ca/

 

https://www.funbrain.com

 

https://www.storylineonline.net/

 

https://arcademics.com/

 

https://reading.ecb.org/

 

https://school.bighistoryproject.com/bhplive

 

https://clickschooling.com

 

www.code.org

 

 

District Calendar

This Week's Events

District Announcements

e-notes Notification Portal

e-notes Notification Portal
[read full article]
Posted Date:
10/22/2018
Source Page: District Public Notices

Notification Center

E-Note Notification Center

Contact Information

Carbon County School Dist. No. 2
PO Box 1530
315 N. 1st Street
Saratoga, Wyoming 82331
Schedule:

7:30 AM – 4:30 PM • Mon – Thu
8:00 AM – Noon • Fri
Closed • Sat – Sun

Map
Map  
Phone: 307-326-5271
Fax: 307-326-8089